The Temple at Escrick Park (historically part of the East Riding, but now in North Yorkshire) sits at the end of a ride from the mansion, which is now home to Queen Margaret’s School for girls. The garden ornament was under construction in 1812, when the steward wrote to the estate’s owner, Richard Thompson, to warn that it would not be completed in time for his upcoming visit. Thompson’s response is not recorded, but he must have been delighted with the building when it was eventually finished.
The Temple was restored by the Escrick Park Estate at the beginning of this century with the help of a grant from DEFRA and European funding. It’s a charming little temple, barely big enough to be an eye-catcher from the mansion, but just right for a stroll from the house. And you can see for yourself: a permissive footpath now allows public access, but it can be hard to find so check a map first, or ask a local: it’s worth the effort.
The Folly Flâneuse is taking a short break to catch up with friends and family, and to venture a little further afield in search of follies. Posts will resume early in August.
Read more about Escrick in the excellent Yorkshire Gardens Trust report here https://yorkshiregardenstrust.org.uk/sites/yorkshiregardenstrust.org.uk/files/documents/Escrick%20park_YGT%20Selby%20District%20Historic%20Report.pdf
For more on the Escrick Estate https://www.escrick.com